The Derwent Estuary Program is a regional partnership between local governments, the Tasmanian state government, commercial and industrial enterprises, scientists and community groups to monitor and help improve the environment of the Derwent river.

The DEP was established in 1999 and has been nationally recognised for excellence in coordinating initiatives to reduce water pollution, conserve habitats and species, monitor river health and promote greater use and enjoyment of the foreshore.

Under our new governance arrangement we look forward to continuing to work with our valued partners and sharing our science for the benefit of the Derwent’s environment and also the community.

Our partners include the Tasmanian State Government, Brighton, Clarence, Derwent Valley, Glenorchy, Hobart and Kingborough councils, TasWater, TasPorts, Norske Skog Boyer, Hydro Tasmania, Nyrstar Hobart, Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (UTAS), EPA Tasmania and NRM South.

We also work collaboratively on projects with CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research, BirdLife Tasmania and Conservation Volunteers Australia.

Meet our Board Members

  • Nick Heath, Chair
  • Charles Livesey
  • Todd Milne
  • Gary Arnold
  • Frances Smith
  • Catriona Macleod